Additional Rules for Smash Up

By: Dennis B. B. Taylor

Smash Up Additional Rules

Hey there! I want to talk to you about some cool extra stuff you can do in Smash Up. These additional rules will take your game to the next level and make it even more awesome. So, let’s dive in and check them out!

The Big Sell

First up, we have “The Big Sell” rule. If you’re feeling a bit sneaky and want to shake things up, this rule is for you. When you play a minion in a base that has reached its breakpoint, you can choose to sell it instead of placing it. By doing this, you can gain extra victory points and mess with your opponents’ plans. It’s a risky move, but if you pull it off, it can be really rewarding.

Bases on the Move

Next, we have “Bases on the Move”. With this rule, the bases in Smash Up don’t stay in one place for too long. At the start of each player’s turn, if there are two or more players with a minion on a base, that base moves to the next player in turn order. This means you have to strategize and plan your moves carefully to stay on top of the game. It adds a whole new level of tactics and keeps everyone on their toes.

Double Bases

Now, let’s talk about “Double Bases”. This rule is a game-changer. It allows you to play two bases on the same turn, doubling the fun and chaos. Each base has its own abilities and breakpoints, so you can imagine the wild combinations and strategies you can come up with. It’s like having two games in one, and it will definitely keep you on the edge of your seat.


Last but not least, we have the “Tiebreaker” rule. Sometimes, games can end in a tie, and that’s when this rule comes into play. Instead of calling it a draw, you can use tiebreaker cards to determine the winner. These cards add another layer of unpredictability and excitement to the game, ensuring that every match has a clear winner.

Well, there you have it – some awesome additional rules to spice up your Smash Up games. I hope you’re as excited about them as I am. So grab your friends, shuffle those decks, and get ready for some epic battles. Have fun!

When I play a card with on-play abilities or ongoing abilities that have no specified timing, those abilities are resolved right away. It’s like they happen immediately after I play the card.

However, if a card has ongoing or special abilities that have a trigger like “before,” “when,” “after,” or “if X,” those abilities are only resolved when that specific condition X happens. For example, if the trigger is “when you discard a card,” the ability will only happen when I actually discard a card.

Some talents and ongoing abilities may have the condition of “on your turn.” In that case, I can choose to resolve those abilities once during my Play Cards phase.

Whenever you use an ability, you have to do everything it tells you to do, even if it’s not to your advantage. Unless the ability gives you the choice to do something, you have to follow all of its instructions.

If you can’t do everything the ability asks you to do, like discarding a certain number of cards, you should do as much as you can.

If an ability says “any number,” you can choose one option or even choose zero. And if a card says “all,” you can still play it even if there are no targets for it to affect.

If there are no limits mentioned in the rules or on the card, that means there is no limit. For example, you can play as many cards as you want on a base or a minion. And while an ability only activates once per trigger, there is no limit to the number of triggers it can respond to unless stated otherwise.

When you play a card from your hand or when a card says “play,” that’s when on-play abilities come into action. It’s important to note that simply moving minions around doesn’t count as playing them.

Unless otherwise specified on the card or in the rules, the effects of an ability end at the end of the turn. An Ongoing ability ceases when its card is no longer in play, unless the ability indicates another expiration time, such as the end of the turn. Abilities that give you control over another card remain in effect as long as the controlled card is in play or until another ability alters its control.

Conflicts and Timing

In this crazy game, there are often conflicts between card text and rules. In such cases, card text takes precedence. So remember, there’s an implicit “unless stated otherwise” with every rule in this book. However, there are exceptions: the power of a minion, the base breakpoint, and VP rewards can never be reduced below zero.

If two cards have conflicting instructions, the one that restricts you from taking an action takes precedence over the one that allows you to do it.

If a card mentions a superlative, like “the highest power here,” all cards with ties for that superlative are considered.

If multiple cards in play have abilities that can be used simultaneously, the current player gets to decide the order in which they are applied.

If multiple players can play a card at the same time, or if multiple players can use the abilities of the same card, the current player goes first, followed by the other players in clockwise order.

Multiple Effects

When a card has multiple parts to its ability, you must follow the stated order unless otherwise specified.

When an ability has multiple effects that depend on certain conditions (for example, “If X, Y” or “Do X to do Y” or “When X, Y” or “Each time X, Y” or “After X, Y”), you must fulfill both X and Y. Furthermore, X must occur for Y to happen. If you can’t fulfill all of X, you are not allowed to fulfill any part of it (such as discarding fewer cards than required); and if X doesn’t happen completely, you cannot do Y.

However, when an ability lists multiple effects independently (e.g., “Do X then Y” or “Do X and do Y” or “Do X. Do Y”), you must do both X and Y if you can, and in that specific order. Even if you cannot do one of them, you still have to do the other.

It’s also important to note that abilities that say “Do X until Z” (for example, “Each of your minions gains +1 power until the end of the turn”) only affect the cards currently in play. Any cards played after that ability triggers will not be affected.

Here’s something interesting: abilities that say “Until Z do X” or have ongoing effects without a time limit actually influence cards that are played or moved to the specified location afterward. They don’t, however, impact cards that have been moved away from that location.

Now let’s talk about canceling or preventing effects. You know what? You can totally play a card even if its ability doesn’t or can’t happen. It might sound strange, but it’s true. For instance, you can play an action card that destroys a minion even if there are no minions currently in play. And guess what? You can even play it if the minion you choose is immune to destruction. How cool is that?

When an ability affects multiple targets, the effect is resolved separately for each target. Let’s say there’s an action card that destroys several minions at once. If one of those minions happens to be immune to destruction, that lucky minion will actually survive while all the other minions are wiped out. Quite a twist, right?

If ability X can shield a minion from card effects while the minion’s power falls into a specific range (like “power 2 or less”), and ability Y modifies the power of that minion to a value within that range (like “-1 power” on a 3-power minion), then the power modification takes precedence over the protection.

The modification is what causes the minion to fit into the protected range, so that effect is permitted even though there seems to be protection in place.


Extra Cards

Hey there! Let’s talk about something exciting – extra cards! These are special cards that you can play in addition to your regular cards. It’s like getting a bonus!

Extra cards are played outside of the normal play cards phase of a turn. You can play extra cards during the phase they are given to you, usually the Play Cards phase.

But here’s the thing, my friend, you don’t have to play these extra cards if you don’t want to. It’s completely up to you. However, sometimes you might have to play an extra card before playing your regular card.

Now, some extra cards are special. You can keep them for later if you want to. These cards are usually the ones with generic instructions, like “play an extra minion.” You can hold onto them and play them later in the Play Cards phase.

But listen up, you must play an extra card immediately if you meet certain conditions. It’s not a choice, it’s a must! So, always be on the lookout for those special conditions.

    Hey there, it’s me. I have something important to talk to you about, so please pay attention. You know when you’re playing a game and you come across a card that lets you do something extra? It’s pretty cool, right?

    Well, there’s this thing called the “extra card play effect,” and I want to explain it to you. Basically, it means that a specific card gives you the chance to do something extra in the game. For example, let’s say you have a card that says “Reveal the top card of your deck. If it’s a minion you may play it as an extra minion.” That means if the top card of your deck is a minion, you can play it as an extra card. Pretty neat, huh?

    But that’s not all. Sometimes, the extra card play effect is part of a larger ability. So, after you play the extra card, you get to do something else too. Like, maybe the card says “You may play an extra minion and place a +1 power counter on it.” In this case, you not only get to play an extra minion, but you also get to give it a power boost. How awesome is that?

    Now, here’s where it gets a little tricky. The extra card play effect can also happen outside of the normal card playing phase. For example, let’s say there’s a card that says “When a base scores…” and then it goes on to say something about playing an extra card. This means that when a certain condition is met, like when a base scores, you get to play an extra card. It’s like a bonus!

    So, to sum it all up, the extra card play effect is a super cool feature in certain games. It can give you the opportunity to do more in the game by playing extra cards or taking extra actions. Just imagine all the strategies you can come up with!

    Attached Cards

    I’ll tell you something interesting about card games. You know those special cards that say “play on a base/minion”? Well, they don’t go away until someone moves them or the base or minion they’re on disappears.

    Now, here’s a cool thing. When a minion gets moved, any cards stuck to it move too. But when a minion gets destroyed, returned, or placed, all the attachments it had are thrown away. And when a base scores, everything on it gets discarded. It’s like a fresh start!

    Now, let’s talk about abilities. If an ability says a minion or base can’t be affected by cards or actions, any cards already stuck to them will be destroyed right away. It’s because being attached is an effect, you see. So, if you try to play one of those cards on a minion or base that’s all protected, it just gets tossed out. Sorry, no effect here!

    Now, here’s a funny thing. When you play an action on a minion, you’re in charge, not the one who controls the minion. So even if control of the minion changes hands, the action stays under your control. And the same goes the other way around. It’s like the action has a mind of its own!

    Did you know? You can actually attach the same action to a minion twice.

    But here’s the catch: cards that say “Play on a base or minion” are considered played on that base or minion. The actions on minions are not considered to be on the base. And standard actions that affect a base or minion but don’t get played on it, like Rampage, are also not considered to be on the base or minion.

    Special Abilities and Triggers

    Special abilities can be used at any time when they are applicable, even during other players’ turns.

    Now, here’s something interesting: when an event triggers an ability, any card that has that trigger will be triggered as well. But remember, each card can only be used once per trigger. So, if the trigger is something like “on or during your turn,” you can use that ability only once per your turn.

    It’s also important to note that abilities can trigger at one point in time but take effect later. For example, if a card says “after X, do Y,” it means it will trigger when X starts, but the effect won’t happen until after X ends.

    If a timing label (Ongoing, Special, Talent) appears in an ability description, it means that label applies to all text that comes after it, until the end of the description or another label (if there is one).

    Any text that comes before a label, as well as text without a label, refers to ability effects that happen instantly when the ability is played.

    Decks, Discards, and Searches

    If you need to draw, reveal, search for, or look at a card, but your deck is empty, just shuffle your discard pile and place it face down on the table. This becomes your new deck, and you can start or continue drawing, revealing, or searching from there.

    When drawing or revealing cards, you always start at the top of the deck or discard pile. And remember, anyone can look through any discard pile at any time.

    When I “look” at a card, I don’t show it to anyone else. But when I “reveal” it, I make sure everyone else sees it too. And when I “search” a deck or discard pile for a card, I have to show the chosen card to everyone. After I finish searching a deck, I have to shuffle it.

    Playing and Not Playing

    So, here’s the deal: when a card that everyone can see goes to the hand, deck, or discard pile, it goes to the person who owns that card. Yeah, you got it, the player whose deck the card came from. It doesn’t matter who played or controlled it, alright?

    But hey, if no one else can see the card, things change. These restrictions kinda go away. You can put a card from your hand on top of your deck, even if you don’t own it. Yeah, nobody knows whose card it is, so you’re good to go.

    Now, let’s talk about when a card leaves the game. We gotta clean up, folks. Any cards and counters on the card, even the ones on bases, have to go. No exceptions. If a card is leaving a base, it can’t stick around for its replacement unless they specifically allow it.

    When a card is removed from the game, it starts fresh without any recollection of its previous state. Even if it’s brought back into play during the same turn, it’s considered a brand new card, not a continuation of the previous one.

    A minion’s strength is only determined by the number marked on it when it’s not on the battlefield. However, once it enters play, its power is influenced by any modifications applied to it. You can refer to the section on Calculating Values for Breakpoints or Power for more information on how these modifications affect a minion’s strength.

Leave a Comment