Conflicts in Tigris and Euphrates

By: Dennis B. B. Taylor

Conflicts in Tigris and Euphrates

Conflicts happen when someone puts a leader or a tile in a certain place.

A conflict occurs when there are two leaders of the same kind (like two farmers or two kings) in the same kingdom. This can happen in two different ways, so there are two types of conflicts:

  • Revolt: A revolt happens when a leader is put in a kingdom that already has a leader of the same kind.
  • War: Wars happen when two kingdoms are joined by a new tile, and the new, bigger kingdom has leaders of the same kind.

Remember the following things:

  • Leaders cannot start wars, only revolts.
  • Tiles cannot start revolts, only wars.

When I play the game, conflicts arise which we resolve using tiles on the board and extra tiles hidden behind screens. We don’t move on to the next action until the conflict is settled. We make sure that a kingdom doesn’t end up with leaders of the same color by the time we’re done resolving all the conflicts. Let me explain how we resolve conflicts.

Dealing with Revolts

A revolt happens when a leader is placed in a kingdom that already has a leader of the same color. It’s like a rebellion!

When a revolt happens, the player who placed the new leader is called the attacker. The person who owns the existing leader in that kingdom with the same color is the defender. Both the attacker and the defender get their strength from temples.

This is how we handle revolts:

    When you play this game, something interesting happens. Both the attacker and the defender get stronger depending on how many temples are next to their leaders. Isn’t that cool? And here’s another twist – you can add even more strength to your side by playing extra temples from your hand. The attacker goes first, then the defender. They can each play as many extra temples as they want, but only once. And here’s the exciting part – the winner of the game is the one with the most total strength, which means the most temples. But, if there’s a tie, the defender wins. So, make sure you count all the temples and play strategically to win!

    Let me tell you an interesting story. In this game, we have an attacker, we’ll call him Pot, and a defender, who goes by the name Bull. Pot has three temples surrounding his leader, while Bull has two temples. They are both pretty committed, with Pot adding two extra temples and Bull committing three more. So, each player has a total of five temples. It’s a close fight, but guess what? It ends in a tie! However, in this case, the defender, Bull, takes the victory.

    Now, what happens when revolts occur? Let me break it down for you:

    • The loser, in this case, Pot, has to pull his leader back from the board.
    • The winner, Bull, gets a nice little reward – an amulet. How cool is that? And you know what makes it even better? The amulet is a symbol of victory because the fight was fought with temples.
    • Both players have to remove all the temples they committed to the game and put them face down in the box.

    Now, let’s talk about wars. Exciting stuff, right?

    Wars happen when two kingdoms join forces to become a bigger, more powerful kingdom. The catch is that this new kingdom has leaders of the same color. It’s like they say, “united we stand.”

    Hey there! Let’s talk about how kingdoms can come together in a fun game of tile placement. Remember, it’s all about the tiles and not the positions of the leaders. When you place a tile, it can connect two different kingdoms, but not three or more. And guess what? You don’t get any victory points for connecting just two kingdoms. Instead, that tile gets covered by a special unification tile, and a larger kingdom is formed.

    Now, here’s where things get interesting. If the new united kingdom has leaders of the same color, get ready for war! But if there are no two leaders of the same color in the united kingdom, the unification tile is removed, and the action is concluded without any conflict.

    When there are wars, they happen between leaders of the same color. But don’t worry, we don’t resolve all the wars at once. The active player gets to decide which war to resolve first, just in case there are wars between leaders of different colors.

    When it comes to resolving wars in the game, there are a few things you need to keep in mind. First, it’s important to consider the current configuration of your kingdom. Recent wars may have disrupted the connection between leaders and tiles, so you’ll need to take that into account.

    Hidden Information

    There are also some hidden information in the game that you should be aware of. Victory point and treasure tokens that you gain, as well as any tiles behind your screen, are kept secret from other players until scoring.

    Another piece of hidden information is the number of tiles in the bag. You can’t deliberately count the tiles in the bag, so you’ll have to rely on your luck and intuition.

    Finally, there are tiles that are removed from the game. These tiles are kept facedown in the box and cannot be viewed by any player. It’s important to remember this when making your strategic decisions.

    Now, let’s talk about how to resolve wars in the game. Here’s what you need to do:

      I’m going to teach you about resolving conflicts in a game. When someone wants to resolve a conflict, they can become the attacker. If it doesn’t involve their leaders, the next player with leaders involved becomes the attacker. The other player is the defender. Both the attacker and the defender get support from their leaders’ supporters. Supporters are tiles of the same color on the board that are connected to the leader. They don’t have to be next to the leader, they just have to be in that part of the kingdom on the leader’s segment of the unification tile.

      When playing the game, you and your opponent take turns committing tiles from your hands. First, the attacker goes, and then the defender. Both players have the opportunity to strengthen their supporters by committing additional tiles of the same color from their hands. These tiles are placed faceup in front of their screens. It’s important to note that each player can only commit tiles once.

      The winner of the conflict is determined by who has the higher total strength. This includes both supporters on the board and tiles committed from hand. In the case of a tie, the defender is declared the winner.

      Now let’s talk about the rewards for winning a conflict. After a revolt, the winner receives one amulet. However, it’s important to remember that only one amulet can be gained per revolt.

      When it comes to winning a war, the victor is rewarded with victory point tokens. The number of tokens earned corresponds to the number of tiles (including the leader) that the loser removes from the board. Each tile taken from the loser results in one victory point token of the same color.

      So, as you engage in conflicts, remember that committing tiles strategically can elevate your chances of success. Good luck and may the best strategist win!

      There are two battles happening in this game: one between the traders and one between the kings. I, as the player who united the kingdoms, decide to tackle the trader battle first.

      In my kingdom 1, I have one supporter, which is a market. I decide to commit four extra markets to increase my strength.

      In kingdom 2, the defending player has two supporters, but they decide to commit just one extra market. Unfortunately for them, it’s not enough to turn the tide of the battle. However, they take advantage of the situation by getting rid of an unwanted market tile.

      In total, I have a strength of five, while the defender only has three. As a result, I come out victorious.

      Let’s talk about the consequences of the battle:

      • The loser, in this case, the defender, must retreat their leader and remove all supporters from the kingdom.

      When the game is over, a win or a loss has consequences for both the victor and the defeated. Let me explain it to you. If I emerge victorious, I receive victory points. How many points? Well, I get one point for the color of the leader I withdrew and an additional point for each supporter that is taken off the board. Just a heads up, any tiles I committed from my hand don’t count towards victory points.

      Now, what happens to the leader who didn’t make it? They are returned to the player who lost them. The defeated leader gets a chance to regroup and prepare for another battle.

      But what about the supporters of the defeated leader? And what happens to the tiles that both players committed? Well, they are removed from the game and put back into the box. It’s like they were never there.

      Here’s an interesting exception. If two priests are causing a conflict, there’s a twist. Temples that have a treasure or have another leader nearby are safe from removal. It’s only the defeated priest and the temples that are actually taken off the board that count. Oh, and in case you were wondering, the defeated priest and the removed temples earn amulets for their loss.

      So, remember, at the end of the game, it’s not just about winning or losing. There’s a whole process that determines the outcomes and consequences for both sides. Exciting, isn’t it?

      When a tile is taken off of the board, it can split the kingdom into multiple parts. This means that leaders who were originally at war might end up in different kingdoms.

      If this happens, those leaders are no longer in conflict. However, if there are still leaders of the same color in the kingdom, a new war starts and the active player gets to decide which conflict is resolved next. (The active player can change the outcome by choosing the order in which conflicts are resolved).

      Once all the wars are resolved, the active player removes their unification tile and puts it back outside their playing area.

      At the end of the active player’s turn, any other players who played tiles from their hands also get to replenish their hands, bringing them back up to six.

      Hey there! Let’s talk about what happens when a war is declared and how it affects the game. Here’s what goes down:

      First off, the Pot player, who ends up losing, has to give up their merchant and both of their supporters. Tough break, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles, I guess.

      On the flip side, the Lion player, who emerges as the victor, gets rewarded with three goods. It’s like a little victory prize for all their hard work and strategic thinking.

      But that’s not all – during the war, any committed tiles that were placed on either side are removed from the game. It’s all part of cleaning up the battlefield, you know?

      Now, after the war is over, the kingdom gets divided into two parts. The kings, who were once at odds with each other, find themselves in different kingdoms now. So, naturally, the conflict between them comes to an end. No more wars between these two.

      And here’s something interesting – the unification tile, which was covering another tile on the board, is taken away. However, the tile it was covering stays right where it is. It’s like a little reminder of the unity that once was.

      Well, that’s the end of the story, my friend! The action has concluded, and the game moves on to the next round. Good luck!

      A Few More Things

      • Just a little side note: during a revolt, a single temple can be used by multiple leaders. It’s a strategic move that can really shake things up!
      • Oh, and one more thing – if a player uses a catastrophe tile to block a space that has a temple next to a leader, and that leader is no longer adjacent to a temple, they get taken out of the game board. It’s a tough break for them, but hey, that’s how the game goes sometimes.
      • If a temple gets flipped face-down or replaced with a wonder tile, any leaders next to that temple that are no longer next to any other temples are taken off the game board.
      • When you lose a war with a priest, you can’t take temples off the game board if those temples have a treasure or are next to leaders of a different color (king, trader, or farmer). The winner doesn’t score points for tiles that stay on the board because of these exceptions.

      If a temple has a treasure token and you want to use that tile for building a monument or wonder, you’ll need to temporarily remove the treasure token. After flipping the tile face down for a monument or placing it on the cross-shaped wonder tile for a wonder, you can put the treasure token back on the tile. Keep in mind that the treasure token is still in play and can be collected by players according to the usual rules.

Leave a Comment