How to Move in Commands & Colors: Ancients
Hi there! If you are new to Commands & Colors: Ancients and want to know how movement works, you’ve come to the right place. Today, I’ll be explaining the movement rules for this exciting game. So let’s dive right in!
When it’s your turn to move, you have some options. You can order units to move, engage in ranged combat, or do both. But before you do any of that, you need to know the basics of moving your units.
To move your units, you’ll use command cards. These cards have symbols and numbers, and they determine how many units you can order to move. For example, if a card has the symbol of a foot soldier and the number 2, you can order two foot soldier units to move.
When it’s time to move, you’ll choose which units you want to move and where you want them to go. Each unit has a set number of movement points, which determine how far they can move. So, for example, if a unit has two movement points, it can move up to two hexes on the game board.
When moving your units, you can move them either forward or backward. However, there are some restrictions. Units cannot move through enemy units or friendly units, and they cannot move onto or through obstructed terrain, like lakes or mountains.
But what about facing? When a unit completes its move, its facing matters. Depending on the unit’s facing, it may have different strengths and weaknesses. So, think carefully about which way to face your units.
And that’s pretty much it! Remember, when it’s your turn to move, use your command cards wisely to order your units around the battlefield. Consider the number of movement points each unit has and the terrain they are trying to cross. Face your units strategically to maximize their potential. And most importantly, have fun!
I am going to explain the different types of foot units in this game. These are the units that are classified as foot units:
- Light infantry units: They can move one or two hexes and engage in battle. They include light infantry, light sling infantry, and light bow infantry.
- Auxilia infantry units: They can move one hex and engage in battle, or move two hexes without battling. Auxilia units are considered as Light foot units when it comes to giving orders to move or taking hits.
- Medium infantry units: They can move one hex and engage in battle.
- Warrior infantry units: They can move one hex and engage in battle, or move two hexes and battle if the second hex brings them next to an enemy unit. Warriors can only move two hexes in order to battle in Close Combat, and this Close Combat is mandatory after a two-hex “charge”. Warrior units are considered as Medium foot units when it comes to giving orders to move or taking hits.
- Heavy infantry units can move one hex and engage in battle.
- Heavy War machine units can move one hex, but they cannot battle while moving. They are considered Heavy foot units when ordered to move or when taking hits.
Movement of Mounted Units
There are different types of units that fall under the category of mounted units:
- Light cavalry and light bow cavalry units: I can move them one, two, three, or four hexes and fight.
- Barbarian chariot units: I can move them one, two, or three hexes and fight. These units are considered Light mounted units when it comes to giving them orders to move and taking damage.
- Medium cavalry units: I can move them one, two, or three hexes and fight.
- Camel and cataphracted camel units: I can move them one, two, or three hexes and fight. All Camel units are considered Medium mounted units when it comes to giving them orders to move and taking damage.
- Heavy cavalry and heavy cataphracted cavalry units: I can move them one or two hexes and fight.
Elephant units are pretty cool. They can move either one or two hexes and also engage in battles. You know what’s interesting? They’re classified as Heavy mounted units, which means that they are treated the same as other Heavy mounted units when it comes to giving them orders to move and taking hits.
And let me tell you about Heavy chariot units. They are just as awesome! These units also have the ability to move one or two hexes and engage in battles. And just like Elephant units, they are considered Heavy mounted units for the purpose of being ordered to move and taking hits.
Now, let’s take a look at this example to see how all of these units move. Pay close attention to their movement rates and leaders. Isn’t it fascinating? All of these units in the example, except for the leader on his own, can battle after moving their full movement rate.
Oh, and I almost forgot to mention, leaders have their own special movement rules. But I’ll save that for later, so stay tuned!
When I’m leading the way, I have the freedom to move around. I can go one, two, or three hexes all on my own. It’s pretty neat! If I want to move through hexes where my friends are hanging out, that’s totally fine. But I can’t end up in a hex that’s already occupied by another friendly leader or unit. I have to respect their personal space, you know?
Now, when it comes to hexes with enemy units or enemy leaders, that’s a big no-no for me. I can’t move onto or go through a hex that’s already taken by the bad guys. Unless, of course, I’m trying to make a daring escape. Then, it’s fair game!
I get one chance to move per turn. If I’m ordered to move, I can choose not to, especially if the unit I’m attached to is already on the move. It’s all about flexibility and making smart decisions on the battlefield.
Oh, and here’s a fun fact: I can actually move from one section of the battlefield to another. Well, almost. I can’t go off the short sides of the battlefield or the long sides, unless there are some special rules in play. It’s like a little challenge within the big challenge of leading troops!
Did you know that only one leader can be in a hex at a time? But here’s the thing: just passing through a hex doesn’t count as occupying it. If there’s a friendly unit in the same hex as a leader at the start of my turn, I say that leader is “attached” to the unit. And if I order the unit to move, the leader has to move with it to the same hex. It’s pretty cool because it only takes one order to move both the unit and the attached leader.
But wait, there’s more! Sometimes, when I play a Section Command card, the Order Mounted Troops card, or the I am Spartacus card, I can order a leader that’s in the same hex as a unit to detach from the unit and move on their own. These cards have a little helmet symbol to remind me that I can move one or more attached leaders separately when I play them. It’s like breaking the rules in a good way!
When a leader is separated from their unit and moves on their own, it costs one order. The remaining orders on the Command card can be used to command units, including the one from which the leader was detached, or unattached leaders. Keep in mind that a leader cannot detach from a unit when a ‘Leadership’ Command card is played.
An ordered leader has the ability to detach from one unit that has not yet moved and then move to attach to another unit. If a leader moves onto a hex with another unit, that unit is not automatically given orders. The newly attached leader cannot move with the unit they have just joined. Even if the unit itself has been ordered, it can no longer move any further (although it can still engage in battle).
The timing of detaching and attaching leaders is crucial. Once an ordered unit with an attached leader moves, the attached leader cannot be ordered to detach. When a moving leader attaches to a new unit, that unit may not move if ordered. However, the unit (and its attached leader) can still engage in battle without moving.
For example, let’s say I have selected an Order Three Units Center Command card. I choose to order a heavy infantry unit, its attached leader, and a heavy cavalry unit from the center section. I decide to move the heavy cavalry unit first and position it adjacent to an enemy unit. Next, the attached leader detaches from the heavy infantry unit and moves onto the hex where the heavy cavalry unit is located. The attached leader stops moving and attaches to the heavy cavalry unit.
If I had moved the heavy Infantry unit second, the attached leader would have been required to move with it and would not be able to detach afterwards. Finally, I move the heavy infantry unit as the third and final move. Now, both the ordered heavy cavalry unit and its attached leader, as well as the heavy infantry unit, can engage in battle. However, the heavy infantry unit can only battle if it is adjacent to an enemy unit.