FAQ about Flip Ships

By: Dennis B. B. Taylor

Flip Ships F.A.Q.

What is Flip Ships?

Flip Ships is an exciting tabletop game that combines strategy and dexterity. The goal is to defend your planet from an alien invasion by flicking spaceships across the table.

How do you play Flip Ships?

To play Flip Ships, you’ll first set up the game by placing your mothership on one end of the table and the enemy fleet on the other. Each player takes turns flicking their individual ships towards the enemy, trying to hit the invaders and destroy them.

What are the spaceships called in Flip Ships?

The spaceships in Flip Ships are called “flip ships” because the unique game mechanic requires you to flip the cardboard ships in mid-air to attack the enemy. It takes aim and practice to successfully land hits on the invaders.

Is Flip Ships a cooperative game?

Yes, Flip Ships is a cooperative game where players work together to defeat the alien invasion. It requires communication, planning, and teamwork to coordinate attacks and protect the planet.

Are there different difficulty levels in Flip Ships?

Yes, Flip Ships offers multiple difficulty levels to cater to different skill levels and preferences. Whether you’re a beginner or an experienced player, you can adjust the game’s difficulty to suit your needs.

Can you play Flip Ships solo?

Absolutely! Flip Ships can be played solo, allowing you to take on the challenge of defending your planet all by yourself. It’s a great way to sharpen your skills and enjoy the game at your own pace.

How long does a game of Flip Ships usually last?

The duration of a game of Flip Ships can vary depending on the number of players and their skill level. On average, a game can last anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour. The fast-paced nature of flicking ships adds to the excitement and keeps the game moving along.

What is the minimum age requirement for Flip Ships?

Flip Ships is recommended for players aged 8 and above. Younger children may also enjoy playing the game with adult supervision and guidance.

Is assembly required to play Flip Ships?

No assembly is required to play Flip Ships. The game comes with pre-assembled ships and all necessary components, making it easy to set up and start playing right away.

How many players can play Flip Ships?

Flip Ships can be played by 1 to 4 players. Whether you prefer playing solo or enjoy teaming up with friends or family, Flip Ships offers a flexible player count.

Can you play Flip Ships on different surfaces?

Yes, you can play Flip Ships on various surfaces such as tables, countertops, or even the floor. As long as you have enough space to flick the ships and maneuver the cards, you can enjoy the game anywhere.

Is Flip Ships suitable for casual gamers?

Absolutely! Flip Ships is designed to be accessible and enjoyable for both casual and experienced gamers. The combination of strategy and dexterity makes it a versatile and engaging game for players of all skill levels.

Where can I buy Flip Ships?

Flip Ships is available for purchase at select board game retailers, both in-store and online. You can also find it on popular online marketplaces.

Q: Can I attack multiple enemy ships with one flip?

A: Yes, you can attack multiple enemy ships with one flip.

Q: I landed on two different enemy cards with one ship, and both of them require two hits to destroy. What should I do with my ship?

A: For now, leave your ship where it is. If one of the enemies gets hit later, that enemy is destroyed, and you can move your ship to the center of the other enemy card.

However, if during play the enemy cards get bumped and moved, and you are no longer on one or both of the enemies, your hit no longer counts towards that card.

Q: What if I land on an enemy on my turn and then, with my next flip, I knock my ship off?

A: In this case, you have not successfully attacked the enemy. The attacks are only determined at the end of your turn when you resolve your ships.

Q: Oops! I accidentally flipped my ship and it tumbled off the table. Am I a terrible player?

A: Don’t be too hard on yourself! It happens to the best of us. While I won’t assign a specific rating to your performance, I can assure you that flipping your ship backward isn’t ideal. However, here’s some good news: since your ship stayed within the atmosphere, you can simply give it another flip and get back in the game!

Q: I attempted to flip my ship, but instead, it unexpectedly lunged forward without completing a full rotation. Is that allowed?

A: Unfortunately, that move is not within the rules. When flipping your ship, it must complete a full rotation. Remember, this game isn’t called Frisbee Ships! In this case, it’s important to redo your flip and ensure that it properly rotates. Good luck!

Q: I possess a ship ability that allows me to attack an enemy ship if I land on a Moon space. Recently, I landed on an enemy ship and two Moon spaces at once. Is that considered impressive?

A: Absolutely! Landing on an enemy ship and two Moon spaces simultaneously is a remarkable feat. Your ship ability has certainly worked to your advantage. Keep up the good work and continue to seize those opportunities to showcase your awesome skills!

Q: Can I attack multiple ships in one turn?

A: Absolutely! When you land on a Moon space, you not only have the opportunity to attack the ship you landed on but also a ship in each row corresponding to the Moon spaces you landed on. This means you can launch an assault on multiple enemy ships in a single turn.

Q: Do I have to wait until the Final Assault to attack the mothership?

A: No, you don’t have to wait! You can attack the mothership at any time during the game. In fact, some of the special abilities of your ships will even aid you in this endeavor. The Final Assault only comes into play if you haven’t managed to destroy the mothership by the time the last enemy ship is eliminated.

Q: What is included in the Moon Space? Does it encompass the area with the health tracks on the right?

A: Nope. You can only count the rectangular area with the moon picture as moon space.

Q: I have a special ship power that lets me attack when I land on a moon. My ship is touching both a moon and an enemy card that needs two hits. Can I use my moon attack as the second hit on this enemy?

Q: Can I use that attack on any enemy ship in the same row?

A: Absolutely! You can launch that attack at any enemy ship in the row. Even if it’s an enemy that requires two hits. And since you also landed on that ship with your own ship, it counts as two hits in total.

Q: I have a special power that allows me to attack adjacent enemies instead of the one I landed on. Let’s say I landed on two enemies. Can I attack two adjacent enemies instead of the ones I landed on?

A: You got it! Just think of each card as a separate hit. If you hit cards A and B, instead of attacking those specific cards, you have the option to attack a card next to A and a card next to B. However, keep in mind that you can only attack one card adjacent to A, you can’t attack two adjacent cards.

Leave a Comment